Reviews - Greyhound Inn

John Merle and James Tough - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay and had a beautiful meal on Monday evening and excellent breakfast on Tuesday morning. Mark is an excellent host and looks after his guests very well.The rooms are very comfortable and clean with a nice homely feel to them. Jo also looked after us very well and is quite a character. We will certainly stay at the Greyhound in again when we are in the area.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again next time your horse is running

Reviewer:John & Merle Tough | Wed 8th Nov 2017


John Merle and James Tough - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay and had a beautiful meal on Monday evening and excellent breakfast on Tuesday morning. Mark is an excellent host and looks after his guests very well.The rooms are very comfortable and clean with a nice homely feel to them. Jo also looked after us very well and is quite a character. We will certainly stay at the Greyhound in again when we are in the area.

Reviewer:John & Merle Tough | Wed 8th Nov 2017


Friendly and comfortable - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stop off at The Greyhound on the way up to Scotland. The staff were all very welcoming and we had a pleasant surprise finding live folk music in the bar. The room was superb and breakfast excellent.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Ritchie Gale | Sun 22nd Oct 2017


Fantastic accomadation- Rating 5/5

The room was very spacious clean and warmthe food was excellentI would recommend this as a very good place to stay or just to call in for a meal

Reviewer:Lee Warhurst | Sat 21st Oct 2017


2nd visit - Rating 5/5

Travelling back home and had a second lovely visit to the Greyhound . Food delicious and made feel very welcome

Reviewer:Alison Mcanulty | Fri 13th Oct 2017


Our overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly, warm ,comfortable. Breakfast excellent. A good pint at the bar

Reviewer:Philip Fieldsend | Mon 9th Oct 2017


The Greyhound Inn - Rating 5/5

A lovely stay. The room was spacious and clean, really good having a separate sitting area. The food was well cooked and tasty. Both I and my dog felt very welcome.I also enjoyed my walks around the village.

Reviewer:e bean | Tue 3rd Oct 2017


Top Marks - Rating 4/5

Old pub. Well maintained. Great food. Super beer. Comfy beds. Hard working landlord endeavouring hard to revive the business from a \"dead duck\"a few years ago. Making good progress but could do with a few more willing punters. Can definitely recommend and will certainly stay again if in the area.

Response

Thanks John, we do try hard I hope people reading this will take note and give us a try

Reviewer:John Laidlar | Thu 21st Sep 2017


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Just returned from a one night stay, really nicely furnished comfortable rooms. Our family had three rooms and we all enjoyed our stay.Really lovely cooked breakfast set us up for the day.We also had an evening meal which was really good, so much choice on the menu it was hard to choose. Also loved the dog, made it feel really homely.

Reviewer:David Gosling | Mon 18th Sep 2017


Always have a lovely stay at the Greyhound Inn - Rating 5/5

This is the 4th time we have stayed here while visiting family and friends. Lovely place, comfortable rooms, good food and excellent breakfast. Nothing too much trouble and our dog came to. See you soon

Reviewer:Carol Tilling | Sun 10th Sep 2017


Excellent venue - Rating 5/5

Great rooms - great price.

Reviewer:Paul Soare | Thu 24th Aug 2017


Great inn just off the A1 - Rating 5/5

We stayed at The Greyhound as a half way point on the way to Scotland. It\'s about ten minutes off the A1 in a perfect location. Food is good, the cost is great value and the company in the bar is convivial. We were travelling with our dog who was made very welcome.

Reviewer:Michael Launchbury | Mon 21st Aug 2017


Friendly- Rating 4/5

The room very spacious and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stop there again

Reviewer:Mrs Carol Binneui | Sun 20th Aug 2017


Friendly- Rating 4/5

The room very spacious and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stop there again

Reviewer:Mrs Carol Binneui | Sun 20th Aug 2017


Warm Welcome - Rating 5/5

We had two nights dinner, b&b at the Greyhound.We had a warm welcome, delicious food, comfortable bed in a spacious, well equipped room.We will return!!

Reviewer:Linda Ward | Sun 13th Aug 2017


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcome and enjoyable stay. Breakfasts were excellent as was the steak we had one evening. Good value.

Reviewer:Brian Taylor | Thu 10th Aug 2017


Breaking journey to Scotland- Rating 5/5

We both enjoyed our stay very much. The room was clean and comfortable with lots of little \"touches\"such as bottled water and a shelf full of books to make us feel welcome.Breakfast was delicious with choices to please the fussiest guest! Excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Jean Hook | Mon 7th Aug 2017


Made to feel welcome! - Rating 4/5

Great service all round. Spacious and very clean rooms!

Reviewer:Stacie Moyle | Mon 7th Aug 2017


Spot on - Rating 5/5

The bed was very comfy, loved the power shower, food was lovely- cannot fault this lovely B&B.

Reviewer:Lisa Underhill | Mon 7th Aug 2017


Clean and Comfortable - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed staying here.Everything was very clean and the bed was super comfortable.Breakfast was excellent in every detail.

Reviewer:Dennis Fahey | Sun 6th Aug 2017


1 night stay with dog - Rating 5/5

Excellent room nice and quiet even by the road and great breakfast too

Reviewer:Elaine Bramwell | Sat 5th Aug 2017


Another lovely stay, thank you - Rating 5/5

A really special place to visit and stay. Very clean and comfortable and excellent food. The staff were very helpful and ensured we had all we needed for the children. We really look forward to staying again.

Reviewer:Suzanne Candy | Mon 31st Jul 2017


stay at the greyhound. - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay.Friendly, food good, room fantastic.Already planing second visit!!Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. brian wells | Sun 30th Jul 2017


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Near the A1 but off the main roads in a rural setting the location is perfect if on business or visiting the NE. Rooms excellent. Food excellent. Welcome excellent. I would highly recommend the Greyhound!

Reviewer:Alec Knowles | Sat 29th Jul 2017


Quick Stay - Rating 4/5

We were recommended by friend to stay the night at the Greyhound Inn. Excellent food and very comfortable accommodation

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Gould | Fri 21st Jul 2017


A great place to stay, welcome, comfort and food.- Rating 5/5

This traditional country inn is just great, very comfortable, spacious rooms and beds, a first class chef, must be the best pieman in Yorkshire, a welcoming landlord, spacious bar with all the facilities you need.

Reviewer:John winyard | Mon 10th Jul 2017


Friday night in Hackforth Yorks - Rating 4/5

WE had a lovely evening in the pub, good food and friendly company. Great to see so many dogs! The veggie moussaka needs aubergine though. Great room, very comfortable . A lttle bit cold, had to seek out an eiderdown from the wardrobe. We would stay again, and maybe bring our own dogs too! Thanks, Karen and Vince

Reviewer:Mrs Karen Palmer | Tue 4th Jul 2017


Stop Over - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night on our way home after a holiday in Northumberland.What a gem of a place.Everything you require for a night (or More).Very friendly and helpful staff.Room, almost like a suite !All the usual requisites coffee,tea..Room and bathroom clean.Plenty of seating too.The food was good and service to match.Three good Yorkshire ales, and gin.Excellent valueHighly recommended.

Reviewer:roy sumner | Mon 3rd Jul 2017


Overnight stay at The Greyhound Inn - Rating 4/5

A very quiet, comfortable room combined with good food and a pleasant bar made this a good choice at a reasonable price.

Reviewer:DENIS ROWE | Mon 3rd Jul 2017


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Although the weather has been rainy a nice evening with friends at The Greyhound.

Reviewer:Bronia Johnson | Sat 1st Jul 2017


- Rating 4/5

A very pleasant country inn.Lovely spacious room.Gracious host and good food.

Reviewer:Elaine McCarthy | Thu 29th Jun 2017


Top breakfast - Rating 4/5

Top breakfast &lovely big rooms.

Reviewer:Ken Lambert | Tue 27th Jun 2017


A break in the Dales - Rating 5/5

A return visit and not disappointed. Good food, good beers, good company and a comfortable room. Mike and his team were friendly and welcoming. Strongly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr Stephen Peters | Mon 12th Jun 2017


lovely place - Rating 5/5

Visited before a wedding in Masham. Good location. Very clean, comfortable and large room with everything you need eg toiletries, biscuits and water. Cant fault the food at night or at breakfast. Staff very helpful. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Response

Thank you Liz, glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Reviewer:Mrs. liz collins | Mon 29th May 2017


Classic Country pub/Inn - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Grehound whilst back in Yorkshire on family business.Mike and his team made me welcome from the start, the room was spacious and comfortable with a good shower.The food was excellent pup grub, well worth a visit for on it\'s own, and the breakfast was all anyone could wish for.The bar is friendly and welcoming with good Yorkshire beers to boot. If you time it right you may get to see a quoits match, the regulars told me the team was really quite good.

Response

Thank you Pete, we always try to make everyone feel welcome, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope the Quoits team can maintain their current form!

Reviewer:Mr. Pete Oakes | Thu 25th May 2017


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Good food ,nice comfy bed ,Beer and breakfast top drawer

Response

Thank you John, sounds like you covered all the base\'s

Reviewer:John Greenbank | Mon 22nd May 2017


Excellent stopover - Rating 5/5

Stayed at The Greyhound in late April and enjoyed the experience. Comfortable surroundings, good food and friendly service. All we could ask for. We would stay again when in the area.

Reviewer:Ron Meakin | Mon 15th May 2017


Shortstay at greyhound- Rating 5/5

Mike the gaffer was on hols.brianand jo were brilliant with their hospitality, and of course brians cooking.Will be back next year @!!

Reviewer:David Allsopp | Thu 4th May 2017


A homely and relaxing place for an overnight stay on a long journey - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely room with an old charm feel to it. The shower room was small but functional. We appreciated the welcome for dogs and that ours could sleep in our room and that we could also have breakfast and supperin the bar area so she could be with us.

Reviewer:Mrs. Heather Fitzsimons | Thu 4th May 2017


Greyhound pub - Rating 5/5

Lovely room. Really good to be able to have our dog in the room with us and to be able to eat in the bar with her with us. Good food too!

Reviewer:Mrs. Heather Fitzsimons | Mon 1st May 2017


Saturday night stay - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay. We loved our stay. Room was very comfortable, food fantastic and our dog enjoyed being greeted by Ozzy the resident black lab. We\'ll be back.

Reviewer:Mr. John Bowie | Mon 24th Apr 2017


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

This place is fantastic! There is not one thing you could find fault with. We received a lovely welcome, our room is spotlessly clean and comfortable, we enjoyed an amazing meal served to us by a very sweet young girlThis morning, after a great nights sleep, we tucked into a lovely breakfast We had a choice of cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurts followed by a full English with brown and white toast and a choice of tea or coffee We booked the Greyhound because it said Dog Friendly and it really is, our Westie was made just as welcome as us

Reviewer:Mrs. Anita Scanlan | Mon 24th Apr 2017


Welcoming pub - Rating 4/5

Stayed overnight with my dog, as we had been competing in a flyball competition locally. The room (2) was lovely and spacious, with a nice aspect. I was really tired so didn\'t go down for any dinner, but it smelled delicious. The shower was a bit slow, but it was hot and the products supplied were nice. Did find an empty tube of shower gel on top of th he shower 😕Had a great night\'s sleep. Breakfast was gorgeous, with lots to choose from and the waitress was pleasant and courteous. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Janine Berry | Thu 13th Apr 2017


Great little find! - Rating 5/5

Just spend a night at The Greyhound Inn on route to Newcastle. Had a lovely spacious room with ensuite. Really comfortable and well equiped. Owner was Very friendly and helpful. We had an excellent evening meal at a very reasonable price and the following morning breakfast was superb,Would not hesitate to return.

Reviewer:Hazel Carter | Thu 13th Apr 2017


Weekend in North Yorkshire - Rating 5/5

Good food, good beer and wonderful staff. Room was clean,spacious and quiet. Joined in the quiz on Sunday night, didnt do well,, but good fun.We will return.

Reviewer:Mr Stephen Peters | Wed 12th Apr 2017


will be back - Rating 4/5

from being invited to book in very early after arriving early to our well cooked breakfast just before leaving a very comfortable enjoyable stay. pleasant staff nothing too much trouble but relaxed location perfect for point to point at Hornby castle. plus a nice friendly dog!!

Reviewer:Mr. martyn ward | Mon 10th Apr 2017


Another great stay.... - Rating 5/5

Huge thanks to Mike and the Greyhound Inn. After an early start and a busy day;it\'s so nice to receive such a warm welcome, have a lovely comfortable room and enjoy a hearty dinner!

Response

Thank you Carrie, we try to make sure our guests can arrive and relax after a busy day, and send them on refreshed and ready for the next day

Reviewer:Ms. Carrie Ford | Fri 13th Jan 2017


Little gem - Rating 5/5

This was a very impulsive decision to have a weekend away and we found a little gem. It\'s in a beautiful area and the staff were very friendly. The inn is very well kept and lovely and clean. The room was great, well kept very clean and everything you could wish for. We had 2 evening meals which were delicious and the full breakfast was just the thing to start the day off. The locall customers were also very friendly.We were at our destination within 2 hours of booking and the room was very warm and comfortable. Excellent service.We will be back

Response

Thank you for you comments Jean, hope we see you again soon

Reviewer:Jean Stones | Mon 9th Jan 2017


Comfotable stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable stay we slept well. The room was clean and comfortable. We ate in the pub in the evening and it was good value and very good standard of food. Breakfast was also very good

Reviewer:Ms. Sarah Wemyss | Tue 3rd Jan 2017


Christmas Eve at the Greyhound - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant stay here on Christmas Eve. Spacious room with comfy bed. Food was good particularly our Christmas day breakfast. Our dog was made very welcome too.

Reviewer:Michelle Haigh | Tue 27th Dec 2016


Top shot! - Rating 5/5

Excellent, welcoming, clean and comfortable acccommodation. First class food from a substantial menu. A relaxing weekend break in an ideal position for exploring the area - and not forgetting Ossie\'s morning welcome before a substantial breakfast. Hopefully we\'ll be back!

Reviewer:Peter Leedham | Mon 12th Dec 2016


LOVELY STAY - Rating 5/5

Our time in the Greyhound was lovely. Wonderful rooms, cozy beds, and a lovely setting. Breakfast was ace too. I thoroughly recommend this in a lovely part of Yorkshire.

Reviewer:Martin Gordon | Sun 4th Dec 2016


Greyhound Inn review - Rating 5/5

A really great place to stay... Always a friendly welcome;comfortable, spacious rooms, and lovely home cooking. Good value, and most importantly my little dog can stay too..!

Reviewer:Carey Ford| Thu 1st Dec 2016


Saturday 26 November 2017 - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable,friendly,reasonably priced serving good food.Very clean andDog friendly.We have been severel times

Reviewer:David Smith | Mon 28th Nov 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

I booked to stay in the Greyhound Inn for one night on relocating to a new home.I spent nine hours on the road after being stuck in horrendous traffic. On arrival they informed me that on making my reservation I had booked the night before and not the day I arrived! The lovely lady had no problem with amending my booking, and giving me a room for the night.The room was lovely, extreamly comfy bed, very homely. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Response

Thank you for your kind words, after a long journey the last thing you need is problems so I,m glad we were able to accommodate you,welcome to Yorkshire!

Reviewer:Mrs. Erica Welsh | Wed 9th Nov 2016


wonderful welcome - Rating 5/5

Lovely to feel we were welcomed back like members of the family, without responsibility of cooking etc.

Response

We do our best to make it a home from home, nice to hear you felt that way

Reviewer:Mr D Baldwin | Mon 7th Nov 2016


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

I love staying at the Greyhound.They always make me feel welcome, the rooms are large and well equipped and the food is excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mandy Cope | Thu 3rd Nov 2016


Great pub! - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed overnight on the way south and a week later on the way back north.Very welcoming, friendly staff, good food and delightful bedrooms.(My wife particularly liked Room 5!)Next time we are going south, we will definitely stay here again.Oh!And they accept dogs in the bar and in the rooms.Highly recommended.Margo and Andy Dear, Stirling.

Response

Thank you Andy for your wonderful review, look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer:Andy Dear | Thu 27th Oct 2016


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

Had the most enjoyable stay at the Greyhound Inn, Our host\'s, staff, food and room were a real bonus to a long drive on route South, would definitely recommend a stay there as a stop over or exploring the North Yorkshire area

Response

We do our best to take care of the weary traveller. Thanks for your comments nice to know it works

Reviewer:Paul Kelly | Sun 23rd Oct 2016


excellent holiday break - Rating 5/5

accommodation comfortablefood delicious - well prepared - good selection - lives up to the reputation of which Yorkshire is justifiably proudlooking forward to another stay

Response

Always said Yorkshire folk do it best, see you again soon

Reviewer:Mr D. Baldwin | Sat 24th Sep 2016


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic time at the Greyhound Inn.Room was lovely and comfortable.We stayed overnight on way back from Scotland.Had a meal in the bar. Food was superb!The friendliness and service was second to none.We had our two dogs with us who were made to feel extremely welcome too! Lovely pub, lovely people and lovely area.We will be back next time we travel this way.Thank you all for making us feel so welcome.

Response

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and meal with us, hope we see you again

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue Warwick | Tue 20th Sep 2016


Holiday stopover - Rating 5/5

The greyhound provided a welcome stopover on our way north. Very welcoming with the added bonus for us that dogs were allowed. Choice of bar or restaurant for meals .menus to suit all tastes. As well as the staff local customers provided a great welcome.

Response

Thank you for your comments, we are a handy mid-way point for north/south travellers. Glad you felt welcome as should all our guests

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Goddin | Tue 20th Sep 2016


Chill out weekend - Rating 5/5

Lovely Inn, very helpful landlord and great rooms. We will return

Response

Thank you Karen hope to see you again soon

Reviewer:Karen Wakefield | Tue 20th Sep 2016


My most favourite place to stay !! - Rating 5/5

Mike the landlord is great, he looks after you really well and is accommodating.The rooms are fabulous, spacious and well equipped and at a great price.The food is outstanding, with an extensive menu including early bird offers and meals for all budgets and tastes.I love staying at the Greyhound, I feel safe and looked after.Many thanks.

Response

Thank you for your wonderful review, makes me want to stay there myself !

Reviewer:Mrs. Mandy Cope | Fri 16th Sep 2016


Greyhound Inn - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, comfy bed and good food.

Response

Thank you Monica, think that ticked all the right boxes

Reviewer:Monica Nash | Fri 16th Sep 2016


Above expectations\"\"\" - Rating 5/5

Great stay and fab food will book again.

Response

Glad to hear we excelled ourselves! Thank you

Reviewer:Kay Jaffray | Sat 10th Sep 2016


Enjoyable stay again - Rating 5/5

This was the third time we have stayed at the Greyhound Inn, as always the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, the food excellent and the service friendly. What more could you ask for?

Response

Thank you David, it\'s the repeat customers like yourselves that makes it rewarding

Reviewer:Mr. David Hill | Mon 5th Sep 2016


Brilliant find! - Rating 5/5

Beautiful food, relaxed atmosphere and a very comfy bed! Would definately stay again.

Response

Thank you Rebecca, hope you will come and see us again

Reviewer:Miss. Rebecca Steer | Sun 4th Sep 2016


Our stay- Rating 5/5

We stayed for 5 nights. Our room was large and comfortable. The lovely white towels were changed daily. The bedding was immaculate. The food was excellent we shall visit again!

Response

Thank you, we do like to go that extra mile for our guests, glad to hear it was noticed

Reviewer:Mr Jim Betts | Mon 29th Aug 2016


Enjoyable! - Rating 5/5

The fact that we were welcome by Ozzy the Black Lab made our stay extra special! The location of the Inn, the atmosphere in the bar and the lovely room and great quality food addedup to a perfect stay. Our dog Smithy also felt very welcome and got on famously with his host Ozzy!

Response

Ozzy takes his customer service responsibility very seriously as we all do. Glad both you ant Smithy enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mr. John Bowie | Thu 25th Aug 2016


Very comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price - Rating 4/5

We met up with friends to spend two nights at The Greyhound Inn. We found the staff very friendly, the beds comfortable and rooms spacious and clean. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious and the evening meals were very good too with plenty of choices. All in all an excellent find!

Reviewer:Dinah Richardson | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Delightful, comfortable room (no 5).Delicious dinner and breakfast. Very welcoming.Have booked to stay again!

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith Aylott | Sun 21st Aug 2016


short break - Rating 4/5

The greyhound inn is a lovely place to stay, the food is good and they accept dogs, very good

Reviewer:Lynda Fell | Thu 18th Aug 2016


Annual Mini Reunion Weekend - Rating 5/5

another lovely weekend stay in our comfortable room at The Greyhound to meet up with old friends.We all enjoyed our lovely breakfasts &evening meal together...see you next year!

Reviewer:Beeston | Thu 18th Aug 2016


Comfortable and quiet stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed one night only but we enjoyed the quiet location in the farmland and the spacious room with one double and one single bed even if we were a company of two plus the in-room bathroom. Wifi was available in the room and also breakfast was rich and tasty. Overall a good experience thanks also to the friendly owner with a great sense of humour!

Reviewer:Marco Petrussa | Wed 17th Aug 2016


Good value stay close to A1 - Rating 4/5

Good value large room. Comfortable &clean. Excellent breakfast included.

Reviewer:Jonathan Gravells | Wed 17th Aug 2016


Comfortable and welcoming- Rating 4/5

Clean and very comfortable, great breakfast, and very friendly. All you need for a weekend break!

Reviewer:Christopher Davey | Mon 8th Aug 2016


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed here twice now both times excellent. Had a meal in restaurant both times food is wonderful as always. Nice and quiet slept great very comfortable beds.

Reviewer:Mr. Clive Widdowson | Wed 3rd Aug 2016


Perfect dog friendly venue - Rating 4/5

Genuinely Dog friendly accommodation in good location for Bedale, Northallerton, Thirsk, Wensleydale Railway, Catterick, Richmond. Clean comfortable rooms, good breakfast and decent pint. Did not eat there ourselves but menu looked delicious.

Reviewer:Charmaine Eckersley | Mon 1st Aug 2016


very good - Rating 5/5

Rooms are clean and tidy.Food was excellent, staff friendly and very efficient. I would recommend staying and eating here.

Reviewer:Mr. brian purcell | Mon 1st Aug 2016


A good weekend stay - Rating 4/5

My wife and I had a very comfortable 2 night stay. A friendly welcome, a large, comfortable well equipped room and great food. We would recommend this inn.

Reviewer:Alastair Steele | Fri 29th Jul 2016


2 night break - Rating 4/5

Rooms spacious and comfortable. Food good especially the enormous breakfast. Friendly landlord and his black labrador gun dog Ossie.Word of warning:Anyone trying to get to Hackforth using Satnav from the A1 will have problemsfor the immediate future. Exits have disappeared due to upgrading to A1 (M). Travelling north I would recommend approaching Hackforth via Bedale.

Response

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Taking the Bedale exit is sound advice, watch for the Hackforth signs from the roundabout, this will avoid having to go through Bedale itself

Reviewer:Barrie Naylor | Tue 26th Jul 2016


Good - Rating 4/5

One night stay. Comfortable, friendly, good breakfast. Parking and wi-fi ok.

Response

Thank you, I\'m glad we were able tick all the boxes

Reviewer:John Aitken | Tue 26th Jul 2016


Return visit - Rating 5/5

This was our third visit and again we were very happy with the accommodation. The food served in the bar was excellent and breakfast was very good.

Response

Thank you, glad we are able to maintain our standards and keep people like yourselves coming back

Reviewer:Mr Bill | Fri 22nd Jul 2016


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

An excellent 2 night stay. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the area.

Response

Thank you very much, hope we see you again soon

Reviewer:Donald Kirkby | Wed 20th Jul 2016


!ovely traditional inn - Rating 5/5

Lovely setting,friendly staff, excellent food, comfortable bed in a well appointed room. Very good value all around.

Response

Thank you, glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay

Reviewer:Alan Marks | Mon 18th Jul 2016


One night stopover - Rating 2/5

The evening meal and the breakfast were both fine,the room was big and comfortable but unfortunately it could have been a lot cleaner.the sink,shower and toilet both appeared not to have been cleaned properly plus dog hairs on the bedding just left the night stay uncomfortable.

Response

Thank you for your comments , I\'m very sorry to hear that the housekeeping was well below our usual standards, no excuse for that I will pass your concerns on to our cleaner, However I do wish this was brought to my attention at the time as something could have been done about it. Glad to hear that the food was ok.

Reviewer:Paul Lindo | Mon 4th Jul 2016


Comfortable Overnight Stay - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed a comfortable stay with our dog, who was made very welcome.A lovely evening meal and breakfast.Very spacious bedroom with very comfortable bed.

Response

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewer:Mr. Russell Walker | Sun 3rd Jul 2016


Lovely stay, good food and made very welcome. - Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight on the way to Northumberland. Our room was very comfortable and it had everything that we needed. We also had out small dog with us and he was made very welcome my both the staff and there dog, Ossie.We hope that we will visit again as we did enjoy our short stay.

Response

Thank you for your kind words, we do like to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Morris | Wed 22nd Jun 2016


Fun Stay - Rating 5/5

A great place to stay, especially with a dog.The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, the room was huge and the food was great. We had three nights in the Dales at three different inns and the Greyhound was by far the best. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you Ian, glad to hear you rated us number 1 out of all the places you stayed, makes the hard work worth it

Reviewer:Ian Guttridge | Wed 22nd Jun 2016


Convenient stopover near A1 - Rating 4/5

Lovely big room, nice breakfast and dog friendly.

Response

Thank you Kim for your comments

Reviewer:Mrs. Kim Woolford | Wed 22nd Jun 2016


Lovely place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Food good. Very friendly. Lovely place to stay.

Response

Thank you Judith, glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Judith Wetters | Mon 20th Jun 2016


Buisness stop over - Rating 5/5

This is now my favourite place to stay near to Bedale. A very warm welcome, great food, great location and fabulous room. Thank you for making me feel safe and welcome.

Response

Thank you Mandy, nice to hear we are now your favourite, our guest\'s comfort is always our main concern

Reviewer:Mrs. Mandy Cope | Mon 20th Jun 2016


Bit of Country Magic. - Rating 5/5

Wonderful place to have a good night rest. food and staff excellent,and the best member of staff the dog.

Response

Thank you Alan glad you enjoyed your stay, Ozzy dose take his job seriously

Reviewer:Alan Cornthwaite | Mon 20th Jun 2016


My stay at the Greyhound Inn - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant Inn to stay at. Friendly family establishment in great surroundings, with exceptionally helpful staff.

Response

Thank you Christopher we always try to make our guests feel welcome

Reviewer:Christopher Lindsay | Sun 19th Jun 2016


Long weekend at The Greyhound - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable, lovely room, friendly reception - made us feel like one of the family!Good food, well cooked for us, would recommend without question.

Response

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we\'re nothing if not friendly

Reviewer:Mr. Timothy Humphries | Tue 7th Jun 2016


Greyhound Inn Hackforth - Rating 5/5

Stayed midweek whilst travelling to Inverness. Arrived after six hour journey and was shown to my room which was large but cosy and full of character. Lovely comfortable bed and nice hot shower. Exellent dinner and good beers.Cracking breakfast to send me on my way...

Response

Thanks Gary, we try to offer everything a weary traveller needs, to break up those long journeys

Reviewer:Mr. Gary Whiteman | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Lovely place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Super food, dog friendly, lovely large bedrooms, quite homely, all good.

Response

Thank you Sharon, nice to hear you enjoyed everything

Reviewer:Mrs. sharon holding | Sun 5th Jun 2016


Comfy night- Rating 4/5

We had a lovely, comfortable night at the Greyhound Inn.It\'s a dog friendly place, so make sure you\'re ok with that.Our daughter loved this!

Response

Thank you Gary glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Reviewer:Mr. GaryMalam | Wed 1st Jun 2016


The Greyhound at The Greyhound - Rating 4/5

Made to feel very welcome.The pub was quiet and would have been deserted if not for residents and their dogs.Food was excellent, our Greyhound made herself at home, we enjoyed our stay very much.

Response

Thank you for your comments, sometimes we do seem to only cater for our guests, but that doesn\'t happen to often. \\glad to hear you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Steven Greenwood | Tue 31st May 2016


weekend stay - Rating 4/5

Pleasant surroundings, made to feel welcome.Good true english breakfast and much more - good nights sleep

Response

Thank you for your review, seems to sums us up quite well

Reviewer:Karen Whittaker | Mon 23rd May 2016


Very comfortable - Rating 4/5

We arrived late and left after an early breakfast but for the few hours we were there we had a very comfortable stay. Very nice atmosphere as we walked in and met by friendly landlord. Would have given 5 stars if there was a hook on the bathroom door and if there had been a bin in the bathroom!

Response

Glad to hear you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Both bin and hook are now installed in the Bathroom

Reviewer:Mrs Prue Furse Roberts | Fri 20th May 2016


Sons passing out - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay very much good food lovely room good Service would definitely stay again.Thank you Mike very much.

Response

Thank you Robert for your kind words glad you enjoyed your stay. Good luck to your son in his future Army career

Reviewer:Mr Robert Taylor | Tue 17th May 2016


3 days in North Yorkshire near the Dales - Rating 5/5

Great room with separate small lounge and on-suite bathroom. Very friendly owner and staff who serve excellent food. We really enjoyed our stay here and would use the Greyhound Inn again on a future trip to this area..

Response

Thank you Neil glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again

Reviewer:Neil Burton | Tue 17th May 2016


Great Stay! - Rating 4/5

We are walking the C2C and Mike was kind enough to pick us up!He went the extra mile for us when I was sick.Nice place, good food!

Response

Thank you David, not a problem meeting you in Catterick on the C2C route. Hope you were able to finish the walk

Reviewer:Mr. David Ellis | Fri 13th May 2016


country retreat - Rating 4/5

Friendly atmosphere, lovely food and very accommodating for gluten sufferers!

Response

Thank you , glad you enjoyed our food offering, we do our best to cater for everyone

Reviewer:Connie Vitto | Tue 10th May 2016


take your pick - Rating 5/5

great food, great company and great dog, if like staying in quiet country inns this is ideal

Response

Thank you for your comments, think that says it all

Reviewer:Bell | Sun 8th May 2016


Once again a lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We\'ve stayed here a number of times, excellent food , good night rest, and staff very friendly . We\'ll be back thank you

Response

Thank you Anita, always happy to welcome our regulars, see you again soon

Reviewer:Anita Sprung | Mon 18th Apr 2016


Yorkshire April 2016 - Rating 5/5

Really cosy place to stay away from pressure and stressa lot of meals to choose fromalthough out in the country, not far to go for Thirsk, Northalerton , Ripon , Bedale , and Richmond very dog friendly

Response

Thank you Colin glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mr. Colin Dean | Mon 18th Apr 2016


Try it - Rating 4/5

Nice room, nice food, friendly staff, good value.Only stopped short of 5* as the bathroom was a bit tight, but it wouldn\'t stop us coming again.

Response

Thank you for your comments, nice to know we get all the things right that we can. Hope you can come again soon

Reviewer:D Wood | Tue 12th Apr 2016


Great Pub and Very accomodating- Rating 5/5

Our engineers have stayed in the pub regularly over the last couple of months and Mike has always been accommodating and even helped us out at the last minute. They have all enjoyed there stay whenever they have been there.

Response

Thank you very much for you kind comments. It\'s not always nice to be working away from home, so we do try to make all engineers etc. feel at ease, glad to hear everyone have a pleasant stay

Reviewer:Adam Bellwood | Thu 31st Mar 2016


Excellent overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent last minute stay, we all enjoyed evening meal, good portion sizes. Friendly helpful staff and the breakfast was excellent, good choice and tasty local produce. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well stocked tea/coffee etc.

Response

Thank you for your comments, glad we could be of help to you. Enjoy the rest of your holiday

Reviewer:Lynn Attley | Tue 29th Mar 2016


Would certainly stay again! - Rating 5/5

Lovely old inn very near to Bedale.Perfect location set in Hackforth village and convenient for exploring North Yorkshire.The food is excellent, good ale, welcoming staff, comfortable and clean. The cooked full breakfast is the best we have ever had anywhere!! It\'s also dog friendly which iswhy we chose The Greyhound and we will return.

Response

Thank you for you comments, glad you enjoyed breakfast, I think it\'s an important part of \"B&B\". Hope we do see you again soon

Reviewer:Mrs. jean coyne | Mon 21st Mar 2016


Fantastic B&B - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome, beautiful rooms and a delicious breakfast. Wouldn\'t hesitate to recommend staying at the Greyhound.

Response

Thank you very much for your review, we endeavour to welcome all our guests

Reviewer:Walpoole | Mon 29th Feb 2016


Amazing! - Rating 4/5

It was really nice. We loved the dog and the people were also very friendly. The food was tasty and the breakfast in particular was really good. Big portions of food! We hope to return one day to give more cuddles to Ozzy.

Response

Thank you it was a pleasure to welcome you all to our country. Ozzy is available for cuddles anytime!

Reviewer:Diana Miranda | Mon 29th Feb 2016


mr john Jenkins- Rating 4/5

We put a great review on trip advisor, it was a great stay,

Response

Thank you for that, yes it was an excellent review hope people take note

Reviewer:Mr. John Jenkins | Mon 4th Jan 2016


Fab New year - Rating 5/5

We had a great meal following by very good entertainment, would recommend to anybody.

Response

Thank you it was a great night, Eddy is a first class performer

Reviewer:Mrs. Patricia Gordon | Sat 2nd Jan 2016


New Year\'s Eve stay, fab singer and friendly locals.- Rating 4/5

Warm welcome from all, relaxing atmosphere and cosy. Nice room with lots of well thought out extras. The food both evening and breakfast were of a high quality and cooked to perfection. I would not hesitate on staying there again.

Response

Thank you, glad to hear you had such a good stay with us

Reviewer:Sheila Robinson | Sat 2nd Jan 2016


Charming as always. - Rating 5/5

We had such warmth and attention. Made to feel most welcome even though Travelling with two dogs.Very comfortable stay and good food.

Response

Always a pleasure to look after guests like yourselves

Reviewer:S Duley | Wed 23rd Dec 2015


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for ine night after having a weekend in newcastle. We wanted somewhere quiet. This is just what we wanted. In the middle of nowhere. From walking through the door on arrival to checking out everything was fantastic. Mike is an excelent host. When we asked for more milk for our room he offered us either fresh or cartons. Meals at night were really tasty and good value for money. The young woman who brought them out was really cheerful. Drinks are also keenly priced. The room wad spacious and clean. Breakfast was filling to say the least. A proper plateful of freshly cooked food. The greyhound is a gem for which i am glad i found

Response

Thank you Jason for your kind words it was a pleasure having you both stay with us, hope we see you again soon

Reviewer:Mr. jason biggin | Mon 7th Dec 2015


A True British Inn - Rating 5/5

I\'ve used this venue a couple of times now for accommodating my team of photographers working in nearby Catterick Garrison.The Inn is always welcoming, clean and serves both fantastic food and fantastic beer.The rooms are large and will happily house families comfortablyThe staff and locals are very friendly and approachable;we love our evenings in the bar/restaurant and will be booking our next stay as soon as we know the dates we are next working nearby!

Response

Thank you Jacob, glad to hear you all enjoyed your stays with us, look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer:Jacob Deuchar | Mon 23rd Nov 2015


proper country pub - Rating 5/5

Friendly, comfortable, clean, good ale and food, huge breakfast, nice dog!

Response

Thank you David for your kind words, breakfast is designed to last all morning!

Reviewer:David Pass | Sun 22nd Nov 2015


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable stay. Excellent hand pulled beer. Great breakfast. Comfortable room.Only criticism would be:why would you serve a Battered fried fish with the skin still on??? It somewhat defeats the object.

Response

Thanks for your comments. we have always left the skin on the fish, as it comes in fresh it holds together better (according to Chef) who am I to argue, plus you can see what the fish is

Reviewer:Mr. Philip Wood | Wed 4th Nov 2015


Our stay. - Rating 5/5

We visit the area regularly to see my father, and usually stay at The Greyhound Inn. We find the welcome friendly, the rooms clean and the food good.

Response

Thank you for your kind words, I always think the best recommendation is the repeat customer, hope we see you again soon

Reviewer:Rob Barnes | Sun 1st Nov 2015


A brief sojourn - Rating 4/5

A pleasantly comfortable stop-over with excellent breakfast and dinner served in a friendly atmosphere.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your brief sojourn, hope you can make it again soon

Reviewer:R. Russell | Wed 28th Oct 2015


Very Welcoming - Rating 5/5

Everyone at The Greyhound made us very welcome, dogs were no problem, food was excellent, room spotless, warm and welcoming, would definately stay again.

Response

We do our best to make everyone feel welcome, glad you felt that way, look forward to your return visit

Reviewer:Mrs Draper | Mon 26th Oct 2015


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Looked at reviews for dog friendly accommodation &The Greyhound was convenient for the areas we wanted to visit. The 3 of us were made to feel most welcome and we were given a lovely large room. Bathroom a little small but a good powerful shower &plenty of hot water made up for this. We had our evening meal in the comfortable bar area. My husband enjoyed his gammon meal &the fish &chips looked lovely. As a vegetarian I was disappointed that the veggie Wellingtonon the website wasn\'t on the menu &there were no veggie specials, but there was a choice on the main menu. Excellent wine selection &very reasonable. Breakfast choice excellent &the cooked breakfast was absolutely lovely.Owners &staff were lovely &we wouldn\'t hesitate to stay again.

Response

Thank you for your comments. Sorry you were let down on the Veggie Wellington, the menu on the web site is really only a guide as to our food offering in general, not all the items are available everyday. If you come again please let me know and I will make sure Chef prepares one for you.

Reviewer:S.fisher | Sun 11th Oct 2015


Peaceful midweek break - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Greyhound early midweek, end of September and what a pleasant find it was. It is a well kept single bar country pub but with a restaurant as well but we chose to eat our superb tasty evening meals in the bar. The room (No 1) was excellent, we booked double en-suite but the 2 seater setee was a welcome bonus after a day wandering about, and the bed was comfortable and the shower hot and powerful. Breakfast was served in a light airy side room, cereals, fruit juice, yoghurts and full english, no skimping on quality here either. All in all I\'ll stay at the Greyhound again.

Response

Thank you for your comments, I hope we do see you again soon

Reviewer:Bill Mitchell | Thu 1st Oct 2015


Short stay - Rating 4/5

Clean and tidy, nice and peaceful

Response

Thank you for your review

Reviewer:Mrs. Lorraine Saliwonczyk | Wed 2nd Sep 2015


Base for mod and ska festival - Rating 5/5

Stayed 2 nights. Landlord extremely welcoming and obliging. Food excellent. Room clean and bed lovely and comfortable. Highly recommended!

Response

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mrs Lisa Walvin | Tue 1st Sep 2015


A great find! - Rating 5/5

Beautiful B&B. Room, food and service all excellent.

Response

Thank you, said it all in a few words,hope we see you again

Reviewer:Ross Garvie | Fri 28th Aug 2015


greyhound inn - Rating 5/5

we stayed for 1 night 26 august,friendly welcome,lovely room and comfy bed,good food ,good drink,crackin breakfast,and of course not forgetting the friendly dog ozzy,highly recommend.

Response

Thank you for your kind words we do our best to look after everyone, of courseOzzy dose his bit

Reviewer:Mr. MICHAEL BROWN | Thu 27th Aug 2015


Peter Hollinshead Cheshire - Rating 4/5

Good value friendly nice pub atmosphere excellent breakfast good food

Response

Thank you for your nice comments, everything a small village pub should be

Reviewer:Peter Hollinshead | Thu 27th Aug 2015


Great place - Rating 4/5

Good food at good prices, altogether a great weekend.

Response

Glad to hear you had a good time, thank you

Reviewer:Sarah Harvey | Mon 24th Aug 2015


Highly recommed - Rating 4/5

A very enjoyable stay,excellent food and good service

Response

Thank you very much for your comments, glad you enjoyed it so much.

Reviewer:M Alden | Sun 16th Aug 2015


Ideal location - Rating 5/5

Ideally situated 5 minutes from Marne barracks. Lovely clean and large room. Excellent choice at breakfast, more tea/coffee and toast if required. Great choice in the restaurant.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your Breakfast, a very important start to your day

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise Needes | Mon 10th Aug 2015


LOVELY COUNTRY PUB - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean and pleasant accommodation and very good bar food. I felt very \"at home\".

Response

Thank you for your comments, glad you felt comfortable, we try to make sure all our guests feel welcome

Reviewer:Ms. Pamela Cass | Sun 9th Aug 2015


Excellent quiet place to stay- Rating 5/5

Very good friendly,comfortable place to stay en route to Scotland just off the A1. We stayed on the way up and then on the way back down to Newmarket, Suffolk. Excellent food with a spacious comfortable room + our dog.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, hope we see you again

Reviewer:Mr P. Taylor | Sun 12th Jul 2015


weekend away with family- Rating 4/5

Welcoming clean excellent breakfast only negative thing I could say I did not like the dog in the breakfast room as my sister who was in the group has a fear of them and a little unhygienic

Response

Thank you for your comments, sorry about the dog he should not have in breakfast room he dose know better, but takes advantage if i\'m not there.

Reviewer:Amanda Smith | Mon 29th Jun 2015


very pleasant trip - Rating 5/5

very nice weekend away, nice room, very comfy slept well and good food in evening along with an excellent breakfast, friendly staff and dog, would happily go back

Response

Thank you for your comments, always glad to enjoyed their stay with us, do hope we see you again

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan Hawkin | Fri 26th Jun 2015


Dog meets dog - Rating 4/5

We were really well looked after. Real unpretentious pub with a homely atmosphere. The bar was like an extension of the landlords living room, &truly dog friendly.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, I\'m glad you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mrs Wrightson | Fri 26th Jun 2015


mr - Rating 5/5

Very p]easant stay nice room good parking. We dinned in the rest restaurant food was good and the staff very friendly.

Reviewer:Colin Whitaker | Mon 22nd Jun 2015


What a stay - Rating 5/5

My husband and I have just had 2 nights at The Greyhound. B&B both nights and enjoyed 2 rarther tasty Breakfasts. Toured the sites of North Yorkshire and returned both evenings to a wonderful pub meal and drinks in the evening.Room was cozy and very relaxing. Didnt want for anything. Country retreat it was. Mike such a nice friendly landlord and even if you are not a pet fancier you can\'t come away without falling for Ozzie the pub lab. Recommend it to anyone. Great stay.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, as usually happens Ozzy\'s the star. Hope to see you again

Reviewer:G Batten-jones | Thu 18th Jun 2015


Greyhound inn - Rating 4/5

Lovely room and breakfast.Quiet location.Appreciated efforts made to provide vegan breakfast.

Reviewer:Susan Rzepczynski | Tue 2nd Jun 2015


Lovely - Rating 5/5

We have now stayed here 3 years in a row as we compete at the local rquestrian centre.They are lovely friendly people, service was excelant, food great and very comfy beds! I would highly recommend a stay here.

Reviewer:Kim Collier | Tue 2nd Jun 2015


B&B - Rating 4/5

Nice big room, comfy bed, hot shower and large tasty breakfast. We did not eat the evening meal which looked a bit meat oriented. What more could you want? Perhaps a little cheaper would get 5 stars.

Reviewer:Howard Green | Mon 1st Jun 2015


greyhound inn hackforth - Rating 4/5

second visit here and very good again.we had a lovely room which was clean comfortable and well equipped. Food is very good and good portion sizes only negative comment is that would prefer a full printed menu with smaller specials board but this is just a very minor pointIt is a real pity that this place is not busier as it is in a lovely area and it would be great to sit outside on a sunny afternoon.Will be back and would recommend this pub

Reviewer:Ian Fairhurst | Sun 31st May 2015


Freindly village pub- Rating 4/5

We had a great stay, great food, comfy room, freindly helpful hosts, would recommend.

Reviewer:Audrey Christie | Tue 19th May 2015


comfortable - Rating 5/5

Very friendly pub with easy access to the Yorkshire Dales. Its not luxury but it is warm and comfortable with good (pub syle) food and a relaxed atmosphere ... and a curious dog!

Reviewer:Mrs Sarah Hume | Mon 18th May 2015


Very welcoming and comfortable - Rating 4/5

Had an overnight stay with my dog to break up my journey when heading north.Good location just off the motorway.Great views.The room and bed were very comfortable.Room had sufficient space for the dog cage.The breakfast was made to order and was worth the wait

Response

Thank you Karan, anyone needing a quicker breakfast could pre order the night before, maybe I should make this clearer to my guests, glad you enjoyed it anyway

Reviewer:Ms. Karen Shaw | Fri 1st May 2015


Lovely Country Inn for Touring Yorkshire - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely charming 18th Century pub with plenty of character. Very spacious and comfortable en suite room and excellent meals. As pets are welcome in the bar, this was great for us to enjoy a delicious bar meal with our dog by our side. Friendly and relaxing stay which is ideally situated for touring Yorkshire.Really loved it and a big thank you to Mike and his staff.Not forgetting a big kiss for Ozzy, Mike\'s fabulous dog.

Response

Thank you for your kind review, always said it was full of \"character\'s\"

Reviewer:Bill Brown | Thu 30th Apr 2015


Beautiful! - Rating 5/5

What a lovely stay we had at The Greyhound Inn.Room one was beautiful and very big, clean and tasteful.The owner would do anything for you.Breakfast was the best I\'ve had in a long time.Will definitely visit again.

Response

Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you again soon

Reviewer:Joanne Hodgson | Mon 13th Apr 2015


Greyhound Easter week review - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff, good family room with a cracking full English breakfast. Good to find pet friendly accommodation with our dog treated well.Will stay again in the future.

Response

Thank you for your kind words, hope we see you again

Reviewer:Mr. Lawrence Scott | Fri 10th Apr 2015


Welcoming country inn - Rating 4/5

Comfortable beds in spacious ensuite room, with T.V. And tea making. Lovely relaxed atmosphere here where our dog was happy too. Good breakfast with plenty of choice.

Reviewer:Donna Mccann | Sat 4th Apr 2015


Review of our stay at the Greyhound Inn - Rating 5/5

We stopped off at the Greyhound Inn on our way back to England from Scotland. We found the hotel very welcoming and comfortable with a cosy log burner and a friendly Labrador. We had a lovely evening meal which was a very good portion and freshly cooked. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of options including fresh fruit, cereal, fruit juice and a full cooked English breakfasst. At breakfast my wife and I asked for a slight deviation to the menu and it was cooked fresh, nothing was too much trouble at the Greyhound Inn, we can definiatly recommend staying over here and will will definiatly stay there again to break up the England-Scotland journey.

Response

Thank you for your in depth review, nice when people notice these things as we try to put a lot of thought into what we offer, good to know we sometimes get it right

Reviewer:Mr Devine | Fri 3rd Apr 2015


nice place - Rating 4/5

Stayed here for one night whilst travelling through Yorkshire, didn\'t arrive til 8pm but they still made us both a hot meal which was very nice,room lovely, good hospitality tray, lovely full English breakfast the next morning.

Reviewer:Anne Walmsley | Sun 29th Mar 2015


Greyhound review - Rating 3/5

Lovely spacious room, great breakfast and uber-friendly Labrador.Would recommend.

Reviewer:Helen Stobbart | Mon 23rd Mar 2015


Excellent B&B and very pet friendly - Rating 5/5

My friend and I stayed with our 4 spaniels as where attending a local agility competition. The room was spacious and comfy, breakfast and evening meal where lovely and all the dogs where made very welcome. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Claire Thorpe | Wed 18th Mar 2015


Relaxing - Rating 5/5

Nice relaxing weekend good food plenty of choice

Response

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Wayne Barley | Mon 16th Mar 2015


Weekend in Hackforth - Rating 4/5

Lovely warm welcoming pub, pity it was not a bit busier but it did not deter from a lovely weekend. Hopefully be back again. Friday night Mexican night was lovely and very good value for money.

Response

Thank you glad you enjoyed our Mexican Theme night

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine Britton | Sun 1st Mar 2015


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Second time we have stayed at the Greyhound en route to Scotland.Fantastic room and food. Thoroughly recommend this really friendly Inn.

Response

Thank you, hope to see you again

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Wenlock | Sun 4th Jan 2015


Great hospitality - Rating 5/5

Welcoming,warm,friendly, comfortable;all very apt descriptions of this gem of an inn. We (and our dog) were made to feel entirely at ease throughout our 4 night stay. The room was large, relaxing and comfortable;food was well presented and tasty;beers were well kept and plentiful. We\'ll definitely be back.

Response

Thanks for your comments, always a pleasure to look after nice people

Reviewer:Mr G Ward | Fri 2nd Jan 2015


Week long stay - Rating 4/5

Another excellent week at the Greyhound Inn and extremely well looked after by Mike and Brian. The food and beer are excellent.

Reviewer:Andrew Mckie | Fri 5th Dec 2014


Our stay at the Greyhound - Rating 4/5

A clean friendly and welcominghotel to stay , if we are in the same part of the country again will stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Ringrose Ringrose | Sun 30th Nov 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

What a nice change from chain hotels, nice clean, comfortable room with free wifi for working, excellent food &drink, I will be staying here again if in the area with work

Reviewer:Alex Rodger | Thu 20th Nov 2014


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed one night en route to visit family and was made very welcome. A relaxing, friendlyatmosphere. Very comfortable bed and a fantastic breakfast.

Reviewer:Stephanie Allan | Mon 13th Oct 2014


greyhound Inn badel - Rating 4/5

Received a warm welcome on arrival. Our room was clean and warm and the bed was very comfortable. The only negative according to the misses was that a mirror was needed near to the power point as it was a bit awkward trying to dry her hair! The lady behind the bar was lovely and friendly and made us feel very welcome.We had a meal that was reasonably priced and was well presented in a lovely dining area. Overall,a lovely stay and a good nights rest.

Reviewer:Ray Kennett | Sun 5th Oct 2014


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay at this beautiful pub near Bedale. Lovely bedroom with very comfortable bed, smallish ensuite (but all we needed) and full Yorkshire breakfast. Choice of pub food excellent and enjoyed a lovely meal when we arrived. Mike our host couldn\'t have been friendlier. Exellent stay and I would recommned this to anyone wanting somewhere out of the way with a genuinely warm welcome.

Reviewer:Dilys Young | Tue 30th Sep 2014


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

stayed here about a month ago, and it was just as good now as it was then. We had the same comfortable room, and a lovely comfortable bed. Food was the same high standard. Will definitely return again.

Reviewer:Lynn Allison | Mon 29th Sep 2014


NOT TO BE MISSED- Rating 5/5

This was our third stay at the Greyhound Inn with our Springer Alfie and we cannot recommend it highly enough for comfort, great Yorkshire hospitality and outstanding value (and good beer).You should not be dissapointed, especially having departed after the \"Full English\".Why stay at a Travelodge, Premier Inn or similar when you have the Greyhound ? - It\'s a real No Brainer !.We will be back.Mike Horn - Oxford.

Reviewer:Mr. MichaelHorn | Fri 26th Sep 2014


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

We stayed as part of a long trip north in our Austin 7 - we felt very at home in a lovely large room with both a sofa and a very comfortable armchair with cushions that we could use to make ourselves very comfortable -A very good choice of products on the hospitality tray and in the en-suite bathroom - having settled in and had a walk in the very attractive rural setting we enjoyed one of the nicest meals that we have had anywhere in recent months at a very reasonable cost - minehost got up early the next day to prepare breakfast for us as we needed to make an early start - could not fault the experience and will definitely stay there again when in the area

Reviewer:David Goff | Tue 23rd Sep 2014


Quiet and quite quaint - Rating 4/5

We chose the Greyhound Inn to end a busy day searching out ancestry links in the Patrick Brompton area of Yorkshire. It is very handy to the A1. It is a very homely - in England that is a good thing - example of the highway inn of 200 years ago. The decor reflects that. Bedroom was comfortable and bathroom newly finished. The meals were excellent, in fact better than tonight in a new and modern hotel. Mike is a pleasant innkeeper, knowledgeable about the area and welcomes guests with dogs. The real star is his black Lab, Ozzie, He is easily the best Lab we have met.

Reviewer:Mrs. Diana Thomas | Sat 20th Sep 2014


overnight stay - Rating 4/5

we stayed just one night, greeted by friendly landlord, beer/food very good with extensive menu. comfortable room en suite with shower. would definetly return if in yorkshire.

Reviewer:Mr Robert Rogers | Fri 12th Sep 2014


Night in Bedale - Rating 4/5

Clean and Friendly , lovely food both at dinner time and breakfast. Value for money

Reviewer:Alan Maskell | Wed 27th Aug 2014


Friends Annual Reunion - Rating 5/5

had a very enjoyable 2 night stay to meet up with friends ...very comfortable room &excellent food for breakfast &evening meals ...and the lovely Hilda to keep us all in check!:)

Reviewer:Margret Beeston | Wed 20th Aug 2014


one night stay - Rating 5/5

one night stay at lovely peaceful hotel. food was excellent. Lovely room with marvellous bed, wish I could take it with me. would not hesitate to stay again soon.

Reviewer:Lynn Allison | Mon 18th Aug 2014


A stay at the Greyhound Inn - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay excellent room excellent food very dog friendly will definately visit again

Reviewer:Mr. David Rogers | Tue 12th Aug 2014


A stay at the Greyhound Inn - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay excellent room excellent food very dog friendly will definately visit again

Reviewer:Mr. David Rogers | Tue 12th Aug 2014


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay, great food, very spacious room, clean and great atmosphere.

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne Hissey | Mon 11th Aug 2014


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

very comfortable room, great food, lovely and quiet

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne Hissey | Mon 11th Aug 2014


Excellent food served in a comfortable inn - Rating 4/5

We stayed for one night and took our dog which wasn't a problem. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The food was wonderful and we were there to experience the Steak Night. People should be queing at the door- it was excellent- fresh, hot, plentiful and very good quality. The landlord was always on hand to make sure your needs were attended to. We would definately stay again- it's a pity it's not nearer home- we'd be there several times each week to sample all the meals on the menu!

Reviewer:Christine Derbyshire | Sun 10th Aug 2014


greyhound Hackforth - Rating 5/5

We were really glad to have found this Inn.Friendly welcome, large and comfortable room, excellentbreakfast.

Reviewer:Mary Wilks | Thu 24th Jul 2014


Well Recommended - Rating 4/5

We recently had an overnight stay at the Greyhound Inn as we were attending a wedding at Camp Katur.My husband and I had one double room whilst my teenage daughter stayed in another of the double rooms. We received a warm welcome.The rooms were pleasant, clean, tidy and comfortable and the breakfast was of a very high standard. I would definately recommend the Greyhound Inn to others.

Reviewer:Lynne Reynolds | Mon 21st Jul 2014


4-night stay - Rating 4/5

spacy, luxurious room;very friendly staff and delicious food (also for dinner)

Reviewer:Iris Bominaar-Silkens | Fri 11th Jul 2014


Excellent stop off - Rating 5/5

We booked at last minute on trip between scotland and the south. Dinner and breakfast were great, room huge and comfortable, very good value for money. Will use again.

Reviewer:Rachel Fletcher | Wed 9th Jul 2014


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

The most comfortable bed we have had on our road trip through Yorkshire. Nice room, country-quiet village. Pub dog was friendly, as were the owners. Hope to come back again soon.

Reviewer:Lori Weinstein | Fri 4th Jul 2014


Nice friendly pub - Rating 4/5

We had a brief but very comfortable stay, a warm but not obtrusive welcome, very pleasant room, good dinner and excellent breakfast.Staff were consistently friendly and helpful. We will have no hesitation about returning. Good value too!

Reviewer:Melissa Bowring | Mon 30th Jun 2014


17/19 June - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable village pub, very much in Yorkshire.Beds good, food lovely and varied.We stayed to be near relatives and had a good supper together the last day.We would use it again.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Martin | Mon 30th Jun 2014


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay and will hopefully be going back again next year. The accommodation was very comfortable, food was excellent and 6th the owner and staff very pleasant, polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:Ian Brushneen | Fri 27th Jun 2014


Greyhound Inn Hackforth - Rating 4/5

A really comfortable country pub. Clean good food and excellent breakfast. Genuine welcome. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Holbrow | Thu 5th Jun 2014


A pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We only stayed for one night but liked the room and the landlord and barmaid /waitress were welcoming and friendly. The food was good and when we return to the area we will definitely choose the Greyhound again.

Reviewer:Trevor Spall | Thu 22nd May 2014


Brilliant - Rating 4/5

Very good stay here, had a lovely dinner and breakfast. The rooms were spacious, the bed was lovely and I slept so well. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Reviewer:Robert Carne | Thu 15th May 2014


excellent - Rating 5/5

Overnight stay, Very comfortable accommodation,lovely bright, spacious room, (room 1) easy access to Bedale, Richmond, and Yorkshire Dales.Quality evening meal, much better food than average pubs, great breakfast, friendly owner.We'll definately return.

Reviewer:Brian Sawyer | Mon 12th May 2014


Really great place - Rating 5/5

We had a really brilliant time at the Greyhound.The room was huge and spotlessly clean, the food was extremely good.Also the landlord could not have been friendlier or more helpful.We were there to do some walking and he let us check in and drop off our stuff in the room before our walk, which was really appreciated.

Reviewer:Catherine Jones | Sat 10th May 2014


Hackforth's Little Gem - Rating 5/5

My wife and i stayed here Saturday 26th April and our only regret is that we had only booked the one night.Very easy to find straight off the A1, the inn was just as lovely as we had seen on the website and much more. Very cosy, friendlyand welcoming and more than a few wags of the tail off Ozzy, the adorable resident black labrador.Our room, No.1, was brilliant value formoney. Very spacious with large comfy bed, sofa, plenty of storage space and an en-suite bathroom with reliable hot shower.Plenty of drinks and food to choose from including a Specials board. Pate, garlic king prawns, scampi and full rack of ribs with bbq sauce went down a treat. No room for pudding though! Breakfast too, a great start to the next morning. Plenty of choice to suit everyone. I obviously had the full breakfast which was hot, tasty and plentiful! The Greyhound really is a little gem and would we stay again?......most definitely, but for longer next time. The inn is a real credit to Mike (the owner) and we would also thank his chef (oops, forgotten his name, sorry) for our lovely evening meal. Thanks again for making our stay a great one and we look forward to returning in the near future.

Reviewer:Andrew Foster | Sat 3rd May 2014


ACCOMODATION - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable , mine host friendly and helpful , good ales , although quiet village nice location for a relaxing night

Reviewer:PAUL LOCKLEY | Thu 1st May 2014


Relaxed - Rating 4/5

We were made very welcome in the relaxed atmosphere of the inn. The food was very good and we were lucky to be staying when a theme night was taking place.

Reviewer:Colin Macaulay | Tue 29th Apr 2014


The perfect retreat. - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay at the Greyhound with warm and friendly staff and not forgetting Ausi (the lovely Labrador). Clean and tidy with great food. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr Graham Barber | Sun 27th Apr 2014


Excellent - Rating 4/5

This was a very friendly and comfortable place to stay. The food was excellent!

Reviewer:Mr Richard Kerry | Sun 27th Apr 2014


Perfect country retreat - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room. Spotlessly clean.Cosy country inn. Excellent food good choice and very well cooked. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr Peter Myhan | Thu 24th Apr 2014


Brilliant- Rating 5/5

Had a brilliant stay. Comfy bed, clean room and great food. Will be recommending to friends and family

Reviewer:Andrew Boyd | Mon 21st Apr 2014


visiting family - Rating 5/5

Very friendly owners, excellent and spacious room.

Reviewer:Martin Hughes | Fri 18th Apr 2014


Delightful - Rating 5/5

Having only booked the accommodation on the morning that we travelled we didn't expect the high quality accommodation and service that we found. There was nothing that we could fault from the staff to the room (which was spotlessly clean)or the breakfast. Thank you.

Reviewer:Tracy Philips | Thu 17th Apr 2014


1night stay - Rating 4/5

Everyone made you feel at home, even the dog.Lovely old pub with history to 1740. Spacious bedroom,Clean with appropriate decoration, hot shower. Goodevening meal but 5* breakfast. Left feeling happy.Would return without question

Reviewer:Tony Francis | Sat 5th Apr 2014


Top Notch - Rating 5/5

Excellent all round, would highly recommend to all readers, top evening &breakfast meals, friendly staff and Ozzie the mutt, the rooms are clean &comfy, didn't want to get out of bed, the perfect getaway

Reviewer:Mark Kemp | Wed 2nd Apr 2014


Impressed - Rating 4/5

Very impressed with my stay. Very hospitable and freindly. Will definitely keep this place in mind in the future.

Reviewer:Niall Clarke | Mon 31st Mar 2014


relaxing - Rating 5/5

only had time to stay the one night , nice relaxing evening in the bar , great host , nice food , lovely room , good quiet location and very dog friendly, would stay again , last but not least , a good pint of black sheep

Reviewer:David Bird | Wed 5th Mar 2014


Comfortable room - Rating 4/5

A friendly welcome on arrival. We were shown to our room, which was clean, comfortable and a reasonable size, including the en-suite.We dined in the restaurant, where the food was well prepared and served. For real ale fans, the beer was also kept well, unfortunately only two to choose from.The landlord was friendly and amiable, and on learning of the purpose of our visit to the area, offered some helpful advice.The full English for breakfast, plus cereals and juice, tea and toast etc.In all, a very pleasant stay, would recommend it and, were I to stay in the area again, would be more than happy to offer my patronage.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Griffiths | Tue 4th Mar 2014


country break - Rating 4/5

a cosy inn with excellent food&drinkgood host and a gorgeous black Labradorwould highly recommend to friends and family.hope to visit again soon.

Reviewer:Mrs Julie Logan | Fri 28th Feb 2014


Goodnight - Rating 4/5

We stayed the 22 Feb for one night, good rooms and the food was delicious with a great choice. Arranged a early breakfast next day no problem. A very warm welcome from Ozzie! We’ll be back

Reviewer:Mrs Jean Brennan | Tue 25th Feb 2014


Friendly pub - Rating 4/5

Warm welcome. Super food (huge portions). Room was a little tired but still good value.

Reviewer:Mr. MarkStringer | Fri 21st Feb 2014


All good - Rating 4/5

Lovely room, great location, friendly host, good food.Bar was lacking in clientele so down on atmosphere but great log fire.

Reviewer:Ian Rose | Tue 18th Feb 2014


Cant Wait tostay there Again - Rating 4/5

We used the Greyhound as a stopping of point on our journey from Scotland to Essex.We were met with Good friendly hospitality, it was a cosy old pub hotel with only a few rooms but that's what we like. The food was excellent and a great choice,The head chef certainly knows his stuff. only complaint was as we were the only couple dinning the restaurant was a bit chilly. Cant wait to stay there again on our return trip.

Reviewer:Keith Poole | Tue 21st Jan 2014


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight on route to Scotland. Very comfortable room and very tasty food.Mike, the owner, is an excellent host.We returned to have lunch at the Greyhound on our way back from Scotland.A very welcoming place and well recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. John Wenlock | Fri 3rd Jan 2014


Saturday night stay in November - Rating 4/5

Stayed at The Greyhound Inn for one night in order to do some walking in the area with our dog. We stayed one night in a basic, clean room with en-suite facilities and enjoyed a tasty supper in the bar (there is also a dining room). We chose from a varied menu, and the Steak and Chicken Kiev were cooked to order. Our Labrador was allowed in the bar with us, which was great, and we all made friends with the landlord's lab Ozzy, who was a sweetie. Breakfast was substantial and was again cooked to order, including a Vegetarian breakfast with veggie sausages! Most places don't offer those!

Reviewer:Frances Fisher | Mon 18th Nov 2013


Traditional English Inn - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming traditional country Inn, very comfortable well furnished room, great restaurant and a very warm and friendly atmosphere in the bar.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Furmston | Sat 2nd Nov 2013


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely overnight stay. Excellent food, friendly staff (and Ozzy!). Comfortable clean rooms. The place has everything you need.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen Curtis | Wed 30th Oct 2013


Long Week end - Rating 5/5

we had a lovely stay at the greyhound.The food and bedrooms were very good.Everyone at the Inn were very friendly and would love to stay at the Inn in the near future.

Reviewer:Steven Hunt | Mon 28th Oct 2013


Nice to stay - Rating 4/5

Handy stop over for several business appointments in the area. Good pub with good ale and food, it was quiet at this time of the year, but just what I wanted.

Reviewer:Bryan Harding | Mon 14th Oct 2013